This January Horse Regards the Past

2013JanuaryHorseRegards

Drawing is a wonderful way of remembering…

I think the first memory I have of drawing was one I had done of a horse. It was the “horse of a different color” in the Wizard of Oz.  I loved horses then as I do now and that one in particular.  I remember what I was feeling as I was drawing, my box of crayons, the choices I made in colors and  being disappointed with the head I had drawn – trying to fix it (no erasers when working with crayons), I think I was five.

I went on to draw many horses through grade school with my best friend Kyra.  After school we would draw their heads and fantasize about having our own horses – mine  would be a Palomino.  Great memories…

2013SketchjayDawn5Horse

This is my “Horse of a Different Color”

My daughter also loves horses and made this when she was a bit older than 5 and it is the happiest horse being ridden by a very happy girl.

2013SketchjayAmandashorse

Amanda’s Happy Horse

I am not sure why, but recently I have felt like drawing horses again.

This entry was posted in Amanda, Art, Dawn Henning, For Amanda, Horse, Horses, Sketch, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to This January Horse Regards the Past

  1. kiwiskan says:

    You must be in a happy space

  2. kiwidutch says:

    Aw, beautiful… I’ve kept a small box full of my kids artwork because they are not just beautiful memories for them (later in life) but also me too :)

  3. Dawn says:

    Thanks so much! Yes this is true, wonderful memories!

  4. Terrific post about wonderful memories, Dawn! As children, a friend and I used to pretend to be horses and gallop through fallen leaves. She grew up to actually own horses – her first was a Palomino. Amanda’s horse does look truly happy, and so does she.
    Happy New Year!
    Maria

  5. And you made absolutely the right decision– about drawing horses again!! I like ‘em all, actually: your January horse, your original HOADC, and your daughter’s horse. Happy New Year, and I hope you’ll keep horsing around! : )

  6. Horses galore. The Wizard of Oz holds a special place in my heart also – a sense of the theatrical and magical wrapped up in childhood wonder. Have a happy weekend Sketchjay.

    • sketchjay says:

      Hi, thanks so much
      I understand the special feelings for The Wizard of Oz… I loved it and was also terrified by it at various times in my life (witches and flying monkeys…) the horse was awesome through and through! Have a great weekend !!!

  7. Dyvergent says:

    You draw way better than me! No fair…I wish I could draw horses that well. Just saying, in order to make the horse look even more realistic, you should shorten the back a little bit, or make the legs longer. But god job! Thanks for the like :D

  8. umanbn says:

    I love your horse of a different colour…!

  9. dda53 says:

    Have enjoyed reading/viewing your blog. Some very unique drawings. PS – My daughter’s name is Amanda. :-)

  10. Christine says:

    I love children’s drawings, they are so pure. Such a silly word to use. I guess I mean they draw what they see not what they are meant to see. I hope that makes sense.

  11. Hello Sketchjay: Thanks for visiting my blog, so now I am visiting yours. Do you draw other kinds of sketches, like illustrations for children’s books? I have 5 children’s books I wrote that need illustrating? Can you do that? Maxine

    • sketchjay says:

      Hello Maxine,
      Thank you for stopping by. Yes, I work in many different mediums and would be interested in illustrating childrens books. Would you like to correspond through email? I am interested in learning more… Five books, that’s great!

  12. I’m curious, Sketchjay, how did you find my blog?

  13. imogenlouise says:

    This is great! And it has also reminded me of my own childhood where I too would be forever drawing pictures of horses!

  14. Debbie says:

    Thank you for sharing the horse pictures! I loved them ALL! My daughter has special needs and draws lots of horse pictures . .rides them too, at horse therapy time! :) When she asks me to draw her one, she always helps and ‘fixes’ it for me. :) Thanks for sharing!

    • sketchjay says:

      Hi Debbie, Thanks so much for this, you are so very sweet! Horses are so very special aren’t they… I love to ride too with my daughter. I am so glad you enjoy them! I’d love to see your daughter’s drawings and her “fixes” too :). All the best,
      Dawn

  15. Lovely posts and drawings :-)

  16. LyannV says:

    Wonderful post – brings up so many memories! Thank you for sharing :)

  17. Amanda’s drawing made me smile too… thanks for the post

  18. A New Path says:

    I love your drawings. Wonderful blog. I nominated you for the Versatile blog award. Just go to my post for directions.

    http://machomojave.wordpress.com/2013/02/13/yet-another-first-blog-award-for-katie/

  19. You have been nominated for the Katie Blog Award! You can look at the details: http://hensandhippology.wordpress.com/2013/02/14/the-katie-award/ :)
    Should you choose to accept it, please pass it along.

  20. restlessjo says:

    I’m hopeless at drawing- much better at looking!

  21. It must be wonderful to feel that inspiration and fulfillment from drawing. I feel that way when I write, but have never had much inclination to draw. I like watching other people draw, though. It fascinates me.

    • sketchjay says:

      I think creating anything is a process that can be wonderful and fullfilling but also challenging and painful. I imagine you must have a similar experience when you write. Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing your thoughts!

  22. suecooart says:

    Great post. I really should make time to write more on mine.

  23. so cute! i cannot draw to save my life, luckily I like photography :)
    thanks for the visit

  24. Meg says:

    I’m so impressed with your horse drawings; both of them. They’re so hard to get right – my last attempt looked like a misshapen dog/cat hybrid. I’m studying horse management at the moment and wish I could draw well enough to capture them the way I see them.

  25. stopdietin says:

    I wish i could draw as much as you. Great talent!

Leave a Reply

