New Blue Grackle

new blue grackle

Working on a new project, I stumbled upon this Grackle.  It was part of a study – that has me experimenting with a new palette.  More to come soon… Great excitement over the new possibilities, new imagery and new mediums.

Thank you for visiting my blog.

This entry was posted in Art, Grackle, illustrations and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to New Blue Grackle

  1. kiwiskan says:

    beautiful curves and colours. This is lovely

    Like

  2. Seacrowe says:

    Reblogged this on Helios Journal™ and commented:
    A beautiful grackle…

    Like

  3. Mayank says:

    very interesting blog and hobby. keep it up.

    Like

  4. Chas Spain says:

    Both bold and delicate – really love it

    Like

  5. Beautiful! They have such a lovely sheen don’t you think?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. cynt5525 says:

    Really realistic !!! I love the sky in the background . 🙂 *Cynthia

    Like

  7. annetbell says:

    Lovely work! Thanks for the visit and the like. I hope you will visit again soon and often. Namaste. . . .

    Like

  8. Beautiful and love the colours too! Thanks for stopping by my blog. Jane

    Like

  9. susielindau says:

    Beautiful work! Thanks for following.
    Don’t forget to bring a link to my blog party tomorrow!

    Like

  10. emanemani says:

    Wow! I just learnt the word grackle, a cool word and a gorgeous bird. Thank You!

    Like

    • sketchjay says:

      I am so glad to have introduced you to the word Grackle and the bird! The bird is a little gift that doesn’t know how special it is. Hope you get to see one in life soon! Thank you!

      Like

  11. Lovely sketch Dawn!

    Like

  12. petchary says:

    It’s lovely! But Grackles drive me crazy. We had about 100 of them in our yard just this evening! (The Greater Antillean Grackle that is). They drive all our other birds out of the place and make SO much noise. 😦

    Like

    • sketchjay says:

      Oh I have not had the experience of 100 Grackles although recently I was in San Antonio, Texas where the Grackles found me along the Riverwalk. I enjoyed it.
      In Jamaica this past May I saw such wonderful birds at my husband’s Aunt’s house in St Anns, she has an amazing inviting garden. It was wonderful. Thank you for visiting and sharing and reminding me of Jamaica. All the best!

      Liked by 1 person

      • petchary says:

        Oh, that’s great! I suppose I don’t mind them THAT much. They are very energetic birds, and make their presence felt. But we have so many other lovely birds in our yard (right in the middle of Kingston!) If you’re interested in Jamaican/Caribbean birds, do follow BirdsCaribbean on Facebook and Twitter. It’s a conservation NGO that covers all the islands, I’m a member!

        Like

      • sketchjay says:

        Thank you! I will take a look at BirdsCaribbean – thank you for sharing!

        Like

  13. Rosy says:

    One of my favourite subjects – birds 🙂 Lovely birds you have throughout your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. smanimals says:

    what a beautiful painting i love it

    Like

  15. lnarath says:

    So happy I know about your blog now! I LOVE the blue grackle. It’s beautiful and inspiring.

    Like

  16. positivethinking13 says:

    Love your work! Thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

    Like

  17. gapark says:

    This is my favorite! So delicate and beautiful. The colors and softness of the presentation are gorgeous! Thanks for visiting my blog, as well. Gail

    Like

  18. I love this painting!

    Like

  19. clumpaday says:

    I really love this picture! My memories of grackles were from when I was very young, we’d be eating on the picnic table outside, and the grackles would try to take our food. They seemed like the embodiment of evil … but you made yours look utterly angelic!! You’ve rehabilitated the image of a grackle for me!
    Thanks so much for checking out Clump A Day!

    Like

    • sketchjay says:

      Hi Judy,
      The Grackle is a very interesting bird, both fancy and plain, pretty and fierce and strong and somewhat delicate… I just love to paint them.
      This painting has been the most favored one to date! I really appreciate your sharing your impressions and experience. Glad you have been rehabilitated…All the very best!
      Dawn

      Like

  20. Don Wilkinson says:

    Love the angles on the grackle and the colder colour scheme.

    Like

  21. Natalie says:

    Beautiful! Do you sell your work? It is awesome!

    Like

  22. RobK says:

    Awesome colors.

    Like

Leave a Reply

