Roadrunners, Kids, Birds and Free Art!

roadrunner1

 

I have been away from my posts for a little while… involved in a number of new things some creative, some not.  This Roadrunner is inspired by my recent running activities.  Suggested by my daughter, this is my first Roadrunner.  This past Sunday I ran my first Half Marathon which was amazing and the inspiration for this sketch.  Roadrunners can be quite unusual looking.

This November I will be running the NYC Marathon.  I am running for a charity, Team For Kids.  TFK offers thousands of kids the opportunity to participate in track and field events and meet wonderful inspiring coaches…  

I am giving away original art on NYC Marathon day, November 2nd! One or more names will be randomly chosen from the names of  those who have donated to Team For Kids.  Please visit http://www.runwithtfk.org/Profile/PublicPage/17732  In addition, I am sending each person who donates to my fundraising page a card featuring one of my illustrations and a personal thank you from me to you! No donation is too small and you can donate more than once!  Even a donation of 5 or 10 dollars enters your name into the drawing.  Thanks so much for your support!

Congratulations to all those who ran the Boston Marathon!

 

This entry was posted in Art, Birds, Boston Marathon, Marathon, Roadrunner and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Roadrunners, Kids, Birds and Free Art!

  1. y. prior says:

    great drawing/sketch – and congrats on the half-marathon. I was just telling my son who Wile E. Coyote was… lol

    Like

  2. icelandpenny says:

    Indeed, a safe & happy run for everyone tomorrow — and a safe & happy day for Boston in general.

    Like

  3. bruceczopek says:

    Growing up in Southern Arizona, there were road runners all around. We lived on the edge of town where the Sonoran desert was more dominant than the houses. On regular occasions, road runners would gather on the tin roof of an old storage shed in the back of our property, doing some mysterious road runner dance and making a tremendous racket on the tin dance floor. Very humorous birds. They would from time to time nail rattle snakes. You would occasionally see one with a snake in his/her mouth. Good luck tomorrow in Boston.

    Like

    • sketchjay says:

      Thanks so much for sharing this! This is such a great story. They are really unusual birds – I love them. The Roadrunner dance is something I’d really like to see. Thanks again, I really appreciate your stopping by! I did not run today but will run in the NYC Marathon in November. All the best. Dawn

      Like

  4. Lovely Illustration. meep meep

    Like

  5. It’s great to see a new sketch from you. Good luck with the marathon later this year 🙂

    Like

  6. Moco Scribe says:

    Congratulations Sketchjay! I have nominated you for a ‘Seed of Light Award’. Please accept this as my admiration for your artistry and creativity and for sharing your wonderful posts with us all.
    http://mocoscribe.com/2014/04/23/celebrating-creativity-seed-of-light-awards/

    Like

  7. Roadrunner– perfect choice for a Marathon Artist!! OK, just a Half Marathon for now, but still mighty impressive!! Nice work, Dawn, and congrats on running that HM!!

    Like

    • sketchjay says:

      Thanks so much Mark! I am sorry, I thought I wrote back to you but I don’t see my message here. I really appreciate your support and wit.
      A Half Marathon for now … but come November 🙂

      Hpe all is well with you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

